Weetslade Relay

On Wednesday 21st June Alnwick Harriers entered 5 teams into the Weetslade Relays, brilliantly organised by Claremont Road Runners. This is the favourite relay of the season for many Harriers and takes place at the Weetslade Country Park near Wideopen. Each team has 3 members, with each runner tackling a 2.5 mile leg which includes a small hill! There were some excellent performances from the 15 Harriers who took part and more importantly virtually everyone enjoyed it!!


Our A Team of Richard JOHNSON, Jo GASCOIGNE-OWENS and David MILNE finished an amazing 4th of the 103 complete teams, which is a great performance considering the good number of excellent athletes who were there on the night. Richard went first and ran a 14.28 leg, which was nearly 45 seconds quicker than his performance in the same event last year. Jo went next and ran the 5th quickest time by a female on the night, 15.34, and then David brought the team home with his 13.29 being the 6th fastest leg by a man on the night and comfortably the fastest leg by a Harrier at the event in recent years.


The B Team came home in 18th place thank to great runs by Shaun LAND, Alice TETLEY-PAUL and very late replacement Ian SIMON! The trio of Jordan ROGERSON, Pauline AITCHISON and Dominic HARRIS were 34th overall, whilst there was a great battle between our D and E Teams. The E Team of Adam SPILLER, Alison WRIGHT and Stuart MORRIS prevailed over the D Team of David HINDMARSH, Mary PLUMLEY and Dean STACKHOUSE with just one place separating them!



4-“A Team” Richard JOHNSON 14.28, Jo GASCOIGNE-OWENS 15.34 and David MILNE 13.29. Overall 43.31.

18-“B Team” Shaun LAND 14.37, Alice TETLEY-PAUL 17.51 and Ian SIMON 15.25. Overall 47.53.

34-“C Team” Jordan ROGERSON 15.57, Pauline AITCHISON 20.03 and Dominic HARRIS 15.00. Overall 51.00.

55-“E Team” Adam SPILLER 15.58, Alison WRIGHT 21.01 and Stuart MORRIS 17.12. Overall 54.11.

56-“D Team” David HINDMARSH 16.59, Mary PLUMLEY 20.40 and Dean STACKHOUSE 16.46. Overall 54.25.


Many thanks to team captains Jo GASCOIGNE-OWENS and Dominic HARRIS for sorting the teams in the 3 Relays this season. Also a special mention must go to Pauline AITCHISON, Shaun LAND, Dean STACKHOUSE and Jo for being the only Harriers to have taken part in all 3 Relays!


Photos are of the all the Harriers (apart from Stuart MORRIS), followed by our “A”, “B”, “C” and “D” Teams.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *