Blaydon Race

Warm conditions were in store for the 40+ Harriers who took part in the latest 2016 Grand Prix event, the Blaydon Race, on Wednesday 9th June. There were some very good performances from our runners in this 5.75 mile blast along the Scotswood Road from Newcastle to Blaydon, with lots of course pbs! Richard JOHNSON was 1st male Harrier to finish this year as he was last year. However he showed what massive improvements he has made by knocking almost 3 minutes of his 2015 time, finishing 109th of the well over 4000 finishers! Next home in 34 minutes dead was Jo GASCOIGNE-OWENS, to finish 11th female overall. This is a superb achievement considering that Jo, holder of all our female records, has been injured for much of the year. 2nd male Harrier to cross the line, on his Blaydon debut, was Dominic HARRIS in a very good 34.13. He finished ahead of Dean STACKHOUSE and Gary HALL. There was a close battle for the 2nd and 3rd female Harrier finishers, with Angie EMBLETON just pipping Diana WEIGHTMAN. Rachel McCOY and Ruth DOCTOR were next. Amongst those Harriers bettering their times from last year were Peter EMBLETON, Mark DOCTOR, John ROSS, Gaynor AYRE and, by well over 5 minutes Ruary SLATER and Jocelyn BOLAM!



Richard JOHNSON 33.18


Dominic HARRIS 34.13


Gary HALL 36.30

Tim FALCONER 36.34

Paul GODDEN 37.18

David HINDMARSH 37.52

Jim LILLICO 37.57

Stuart MORRIS 38.35

Mark DOUGLAS 38.44

Mark DOCTOR 39.11

Jon ARCHER 39.56

John ROBSON 40.02

Andy SQUIRES 41.00

Angie EMBLETON 41.05

Diana WEIGHTMAN 41.19

David BARNES 42.17

Peter EMBLETON 42.23

Dave BARTRUM 42.27

Steve STUDLEY 44.01


Jock BOLAM 44.56

Micky AISTON 45.14

Ian ATHERTON 46.08

Rachel McCOY 46.34

Ruth DOCTOR 46.59

John ROSS 48.37

Ruary SLATER 48.49

Nick ARMSTRONG 49.11

Dave COOPER 49.18

Gail CUTHBERT 49.31

Jocelyn BOLAM 51.41

Ron McCORMACK 53.28

Jayne McKENNA 56.47

Gaynor AYRE 59.36

Rachel BOWYER 1.04.52

Christine SMITH 1.05.01


Latest Grand Prix standings courtesy of John ROSS will be out soon! Photos are of (1) Richard JOHNSON, (2) Rachel McCOY/Ian ATHERTON/Angie EMBLETON/Ruth DOCTOR/Jocelyn BOLAM and (3) Steve STUDLEY.


This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *